That C Word!!

Gift List

Ok, it’s only September but after the best summer we have had for 7 years, the temperature is definitely dropping and as I look out my window in a very rainy Norfolk, it’s starting to look very Autumnal. The X Factor and Strictly Come Dancing are back on TV at the weekend which is all adding up to one thing…..the Christmas countdown has most definately started!

I get so excited about Christmas – seeing family, baking, yummy food, trips to see Santa, twinkly lights, baubles, wrapping (you get the idea!)  But left to the last minute you can end up feeling frazzled rather than enjoying the festive season.

I tend to get the Halloween and Bonfire Night celebrations out of the way before I go full steam ahead with planning Christmas. However, Christmas can be very expensive if you don’t plan in advance. Therefore, at this stage I draw up a gift list and keep this list to hand for the next couple of months.

When I first print my list, I write down everyone I need to buy for and make some notes of any ideas for presents under each name. You may then find that friends or family will drop hints on what they want for Christmas and rather than forget – pop it straight onto your list. I find this really useful for a couple of reasons. It spreads out the present buying over the next 3 months, so it’s not one big hit for the November pay packet. Also, shops often have sales or weekly offers between now and Christmas and if you know in advance what gift to purchase keep an eye out as it may appear in a sale.

Keeping a note of your purchasers on your list, also stops you buying for the same person twice (done that before!)  Make sure you also keep a note once you’ve bought your gift, where you’ve stored it. My Aunty Ann is always buying presents, putting them somewhere safe, then not finding them again till St Patricks Day or some other random time of the year!

Christmas Tree

In my head, I pretend Christmas Day is a month earlier, so all my gift buying has to be complete by 25th November. That way it gives me more time in December to enjoy spending time with family rather than rushing round the shops.

I keep my gift list for a couple of years. I find it useful to refer back to what I bought friends and family previously. That way, I don’t end up buying someone the same type of present I’ve bought them before.

Happy Shopping x

DSCF2309

Leave a comment